UNITED STATES OF AMERICA - MARYLAND - post

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA - MARYLAND

Childcare Training Requirements in Maryland: H&H Child Care Training courses are accepted by the Maryland State Department of Education (MSDE) towards the 12 clock hours (or 1.2 CEUs) of in-service training required for those who work in family child care homes, large family child care homes and child care facilities/centers. This includes directors, employees, operators, providers, and substitutes.

 All H & H Training Courses grant 2 hours or more of training (with the exception of Emergency Preparedness in Child Care) are approved Core of Knowledge training hours for those who work in child care centers, large family child care homes, and family child care homes. This includes directors, child care teachers, assistant child care teachers, aides, education program administrators, providers, employees, co-providers, family child care directors, and family child care teachers.

H & H Training course's MSDE approved Certificate Code is CKO-380. 

 

The Maryland Department of Education requires that all child care providers complete a minimum of 6 out of their 12 required clock hours of continued training in any of the following core of knowledge areas:

  • Child Development
  • Curriculum
  • Health, Safety and Nutrition
  • Special Needs
  • Professionalism
  • Community

 

 

 

  • Within 2 years before the application for initial registration is filed, a minimum of 24 clock hours of approved training that includes 4 clock hours in each of the six core of knowledge competencies; online courses for that are available here.

 

  • Complete approved training on emergency and disaster planning. The 6-Hour Emergency and Disaster Preparedness Training offered online through H&H is an approved MSDE training that satisfies this requirement for MD home daycare providers.

 

  • Approved training in supporting breastfeeding practices. The 2-hour Supporting Breastfeeding Practices in Child Care is available with H&H online that satisfies the Maryland State Department of Education licensing requirement for Home DaycareProviders. 

 

  • 3 clock hours of approved training in complying with the Americans with Disabilities Act. The Including All Children and Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) Training required by MSDE is offered at H&H by an approved trainer. Students will receive their 3 Hour ADA training certificate at the end of class after successful completion of the ADA training. 
  • Approved training in medication administration. H&H offers the 6-Hour Medication Administration Training that fulfills the MSDE regulation for medication administration training. Classes are available evenings and on Saturdays.  

 Thinking about opening a child care center in Maryland?  For more information about opening a daycare or home child care center in Florida, you are able to contact your state licensing office. The office will be able to provide you with advice on Florida's requirements, rules, and regulations.

Maryland Department of Education
Division of Early Childhood Development
Office of Child Care
200 W. Baltimore Street
Baltimore, MD 21201

(410) 767-0100 or 1-888-246-0016

Maryland Child Care Licensing Branch

Courses & Classes related to MARYLAND

Online Trainings

In-person/blended trainings


Need help? Call us at 240-261-1463