In the state of Texas, new caregivers in child care are required to have a minimum of 8 hours of training before being given responsibility for a group of children and to be counted in the staff/child ratio, and an additional 16 hours within 90 days of employment. This adds up to the 24 Hours of Pre-Service Training required by Rule §746.1305 of the Texas Administrative Code regarding, “What must be covered in pre-service training for caregivers?" For the full text, including training requirements, see Minimum Standards for Child-Care Centers as published by the Texas Health and Human Services Commission, Child Care Regulation.
H&H Child Care Training has created this online, 24-Hour Texas Pre-Service course for those seeking to become caregivers in a child-care setting. This course meets the initial 24 hours of pre-service training requirements and is approved and registered with the Texas Early Childhood Professional Development System (TECPDS), Training ID 21640.
This course includes the following topics:
- Developmental stages of children
- Age-appropriate activities for children
- Positive guidance and discipline of children
- Fostering children’s self-esteem
- Supervision and safety practices in the care of children
- Positive interaction with children
- Preventing and controlling the spread of communicable diseases, including immunizations
- Recognizing and preventing shaken baby syndrome and abusive head trauma
- Understanding and using safe sleep practices and preventing sudden infant death syndrome
- Understanding early childhood brain development
Caregivers working with infants, toddlers, or preschoolers will be able to use this course to fulfill the minimum standard requirement.
Looking to be certified to teach child care in the State of Texas? Become fully qualified to teach by taking H&H Child Care Training Center's 24-Hour Texas Pre-Service Training at your own pace and time for only $50!