H&H Child Care Training Center OFFERS
TRAINING YOU NEED
to be a Licensed HOME DAYCARE Provider
in the STATE OF MARYLAND
To become a child care provider you first need to decide if you want to open a business in your home or if you want to create a center-based business. Below is a definition of each type of business:
- Family Child Care – You may provide care for up to 8 children in your home
- Large Family Child Care – You may care for up to 12 children in your home
- Child Care Center – You may provide care in a facility outside of your home that is zoned to be used as a child care center. The number of children you serve is dependent upon the square footage of the building.
For Family Child Care Providers the following are Provider requirements from the Maryland State Department of Education Division of Early Childhood Licensing Manual.
01. Minimum Age. To be approved as a family child care provider, an individual shall be 18 years old or older. In addition, Maryland law (the Commercial Law Article, §1-103) requires a person to be at least 18 years old to enter into a contract. This requirement is pertinent to family day care because the Provider must establish written service agreements with parents. Note: If there is a question about the Provider’s age, the Provider must produce proof of age such as a driver’s license, birth certificate, or passport.
02. Training Requirements. An individual who applies for an initial registration shall hold a current certificate indicating successful completion of training in the following trainings:
- Basic first-aid and CPR through the American Heart Association. H&H Offers this class on the 3rd Saturday of EVERY MONTH!
- If requesting approval to provide care for children younger than 24 months old, approved training in Sudden Infant Death Syndrome. OUR MSDE approved SIDS training is offered online at CHILDCAREED.com
- Within 2 years before the application for initial registration is filed, a minimum of 24 clock hours of approved training that includes 4 clock hours in each of the six core of knowledge competencies;
- or the 90 clock hour course. H&H offers the 90 Hour Preschool and 90 Hour Infant and Toddler Training for Home Daycare Providers. Classes are available on weekends and evenings.
- Complete approved training on emergency and disaster planning. The 6 Hour Emergency Prepardness Training offered online through H&H is an approved MSDE trainig that satisfies this requirement for MD home daycare providers.
- If applying on or after January 1, 2016, the following trainings are required for family daycare providers:
- Approved training in supporting breastfeeding practices. Supporting Breastfeeding 2 hour training is available with H&H online, that statsifies the Maryland State Department of Education licensing requirement for Home Daycare Providers.
- 3 clock hours of approved training in complying with the Americans with Disabilities Act. The ADA Training required by MSDE is offered at H&H by an approved trainer. Students will recieve their 3 Hour ADA training certificate at the end of class after successful completion of the ADA training.
- Approved training in medication administration. H&H offers the 6 Hour Medication Administration Training that fullfils the MSDE regulation for medication adminstration training. Classes are available evenings and on Saturdays. Need an onsite Medication Adminstration training, no problem call us to arrange one for you! ( Some restrictions may apply)