How to Become a Preschool Teacher in Florida - post

Pre-Service Training

How to Become a Preschool Teacher in Florida

According to the Florida Department of Children and Families, a licensed childcare facility must have a minimum of one credentialed childcare personnel for every 20 children.  Credentialed childcare personnel is defined as a childcare professional who has been issued a Staff Credential Verification document on the individual’s Training Transcript.   Florida law also requires that VPK instructional personnel possess an appropriate credential. 

The candidate must meet one of the following five qualifications:

  1. An active National Early Childhood Credential
  2. Formal Educational Qualifications
  3. An active Birth Through Five Child Care Credential awarded as a Florida Child Care Professional Credential (FCCPC); Florida Department of Education Child Care Apprenticeship Certificate (CCAC), or Early Childhood Professional Certification (ECPC).
  4. An active School-Age Child Care Credential awarded as a Florida Child Care Professional Credential (FCCPC) or School-Age Professional Certificate (SAPC).
  5. Employment History Recognition Exemption.

To learn more on what is required, please visit the Florida Department of Children and Families.

The National Early Childhood Credential includes the National Child Development Associate (CDA) or any other early childhood credential that meets or exceeds the requirements of the National CDA and is recognized by regulatory agencies in at least five (5) states. Note: Recognition as a National Early Childhood Credential is determined by the Department. 

Currently, the Department of Children and Families recognizes the following credentials as meeting the definition of National Early Childhood Certificate:

  • Child Development Associate (CDA)
  • National Child Care Association
  • Association Montessori International (AMI)
  • American Montessori Society (AMS)
  • Montessori Accreditation Council for Teacher Education

H&H Child Care Training currently offers the 120 hours of CDA coursework for Infant and Toddler, Preschool, and Family Child Care. The 120-hour credentials currently offer 12 CEUs for each course. Our online training is designed to fulfill the CDA requirement for 120 hours of formal education in specific child-care competency areas. We at H&H Child Care Training believe that our CDA courses are nationally accepted in all states: please refer to your child care licensing agency for any additional requirements.

To learn more about H&H Child Care’s CDA course track, please visit our website at https://www.childcareed.com/onlinecourses.html to schedule your next class today!



Need help? Call us at 240-261-1463